Losing It

You know what really grinds my (parental) gears?
Temper tantrums! You know, the kicking, screaming, crying, hitting, spitting, shenanigans that our wonderful children do when they do not get their way. Of course it is always at the most inopportune times when we are all out in public (afraid to even react or discipline because of the extreme embarrassment that washes over). All kids go through this phase, so be prepared! (If you just said your child never did, you’re LYING, there is no way I believe you, sorry).

Wouldn’t it be nice, if we could all react that way…NOT! It really is crazy what kids will get worked up over. It sometimes can be a legit reason that warrants a reaction (they just don’t know how to quite express themselves appropriately yet), but for the most part, it’s for some CRAZY reason. It is all so silly. They look silly, you look silly (in your embarrassment/frustration), the whole situation is just silly!

I once freaked my eldest son out because he kept throwing tantrums throughout the day. So, I decided the next time he threw a tantrum, I would as well. As soon as he started, I started screaming, whining, pounding my fists, and threw myself to the floor. My husband was horrified, my child was horrified, and to be honest, I couldn’t have been more proud of myself at that moment. I think I got the point across (at least for the rest of that day), how silly it looks to throw a temper tantrum. Once my son made sure I was okay, he did admit how silly and ridiculous Mommy looked. IT WORKED! (I was slightly impressed by my tantrum skills).

I can’t think of the silliest thing my kids have ever thrown a tantrum over, but here is a gallery of some pretty silly kids throwing some pretty hilarious tantrums: 35 Hilarious Photos of Kids Losing It Over NOTHING.

I hope this brings back some awesome (yeah right) memories for you parents out there. For parents who haven’t entered this phase yet, DOESN’T THIS LOOK FUN?! And to those of you without children, be easy on us when you do see our children freaking out for NO REASON. We have no idea when it is going to happen and it is actually very hard to stop once started.  And if you see a mother or father going crazy and screaming and kicking on the floor, maybe they have reached their breaking point OR it could just be a lesson for the child to learn.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHAS;DLKFJAS;LGJAFSDJA;SLDGKJAGJA;LKDJGA;LGKJASG! Sorry, had a little freak out there, I just dropped my pen on the floor and the dog sniffed my foot. See what I did there 😉

And that folks, is what really grinds my (parental) gears. At least for this week 🙂

One thought on “Losing It

  1. Jill Bertram Hayden says:

    Holding the mirror up always works! Good thinking. When my youngest boy threw a fit in the car I would blast The Pretenders’ “Stop Your Sobbing”. His two brothers and I would sing along. Eventually Ty would join us and forget what he was crying about. Not recommended for public tantrums however.

    Like

Leave a Reply

