A Tornado Hit the Toy Chest… AGAIN!

My beautiful, lively son... and his toy chest. I literally just picked up all the toys and closed the lid 5 minutes before this picture...

My beautiful, lively son… and his toy chest. I literally just picked up all the toys and closed the lid 5 minutes before this picture…

You know what really grinds my (parental) gears?
How easily children can turn into TORNADOS!

I know, children are messy. I know never to take their messes for granted because I know one day, I won’t have their mess to clean up anymore. But COME ON! They are little tornados and/or hurricanes (whichever you prefer best), and the storm only seems to strike when the coast is clear. “Oh, you just cleaned up Mom? Here, let me help you WRECK the place!”

I do love watching them play. I do love watching their imagination and creativity come into action. I do not love the mess, but I deal with it. This post I found was dead on and I also learned a few tricks to help with clean up

  • Play on a blanket (holy genius! Why in the world have I not thought of that yet?!)
  • Encourage play at a table (it makes sense, duh! but unfortunately it isn’t always that easy)
  • Kids who play in isolation become teenagers who are out of sight (glad we don’t have an isolated play room, if only for this reason alone)

So parents beware… if you clean your home or any area of the house for that matter… the storm is building and will strike AS SOON as you sit down 🙂 but the storm ALWAYS passes and before you know it, you will be missing the storms.

One thought on “A Tornado Hit the Toy Chest… AGAIN!

  1. Oh, teenagers end up out of sight either way. When my teenager was little, all his toys were downstairs – he played in either the living room or dining room – and his bedroom was basically for sleeping. He’s fifteen now and I usually only see him when he’s hungry or being relentlessly forced to do his daily chores. His bedroom smells like sweaty socks – and he’s okay with that! (Ew!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

