What Happened to my Music Taste?

You know what really grinds my (parental) gears?
I miss my music! Sure I still listen to my music a lot, but not as frequently as I hear my kids favorite songs and TV theme songs.

Sometimes I wake up humming the theme songs to Sesame Street, Curious George, and even just the ABCs. I wake up thinking, “Okay, it’s official, I’m a Mom! Gosh, I miss my music,” and then I laugh and laugh and laugh. And then I try to refresh my head with my music again. Sometimes I really miss loud “rock and roll” or “grunge” or just any music that is not Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. Sometimes I just need The Dandy Warhols, Queens of the Stone Age, or my forever favorite since I was a little girl, The Beatles.

I am not one of those parents that hides my own personal music taste though. I was brought up in a house full of a wide variety of awesome (sometimes loud) music. Thanks Dad! To this day, I still enjoy and listen to the music I was brought up on. I want that for my kids as well. I hope my kids can always have that one common interest with my husband and I forever, like I do with my parents. I believe music brings people together, it lightens the soul, and guides you through certain times in your life. Sure, there are certain things I don’t want my kids listening to (not age appropriate, or once you hear a 3-year-old sing it, only then will you realize how dirty some songs are) but I try not to shelter them from anything. I want them to develop their own tastes as well.

I also know that one day, I will miss having these kids songs in my head and I should love and appreciate the times I get to see my kids dancing and singing these cute little tunes. And I do. But I also can’t wait to share the love of adult music with them as they grow older and become their own person. Who knows, maybe one day they will introduce me to something new and awesome…

Leave a Reply

