Sick? Too Bad Mommy

You know what really grinds my (parental) gears?
No sick days! Yup, that’s right. If you get sick, too bad Mommy, suck it up and bust through your day, like it’s any other day of the week.

Kids get sick days. Daddy’s get sick days. Mommy’s, nope, not you. Whether you work or not, you still have to play your role as Mommy (even if you take a sick day from work). Someone has to make sure the kids aren’t killing each-other, or the pets, or the house.

I notice a lot of men don’t get the same treatment. Why do kids understand when Daddy is sick but not Mommy? I can’t answer that question. Wish I could, as I am sitting here dripping with snot, achy all over, and feverish. I still am running about being the busy Mom that has to entertain and chase and keep my little ones safe. I can tell them “mommy is sick” until I turn blue in the face, but they are still going to say “oh okay mommy” and keep bouncing off the walls. It does not matter to them I am sick and tired and that all I really need is to rest.

And you know what, I can’t be mad at them for that. Right now they don’t fully understand the concept. One day they will. But until then, to all you sick Mommys out there (myself included), you will get through this. We all do. So try to stay healthy and keep positive. Run your marathon race of being a Mommy, you will get your rest as soon as those babies lay their heads down to sleep.

3 thoughts on “Sick? Too Bad Mommy

  1. Moms aren’t allowed to get sick. And if we do, we suck it up and continue on….That’s just the way it is. Our Moms did it, our Grandmothers did it, and so on.
    But it makes us stronger and helps us live longer. It’s what we do.
    Hope you are feeling better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

